## GUAMLEGISLATIVE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ADVISORY COUNCIL

155 Hesler Place ~ Hagatna, Guam 96932 ~ www.guamlegislature.com/FOIA.htm (671) 472-7679 ~ (Fax) 671-472-3547 ~ foia.council@guamlegislature.org

## Meeting Minutes June 3, 2014

## Opening:

Chairperson Senator Rory J. Respicio called the June 3, 2014 meeting to order at 2:13pm

Those present included:
Chair Senator Rory J. Respicio
Vice Chair Jayne Flores
Senator Tom Ada
Pat Mason
Maureen Maratita
Sophia Santos Diaz
Jeffery Marchesseault
Bob Klitzkie
Troy Torres

Absent: RindratyLimtiaco, Barry Mead, Senator Tony Ada and Gary Gumataotao

A motion was made by Bob Klitzkie to adopt subcommittee documents and approve section by section. The Motion was seconded by Jayne Flores. No objections passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Bob Klitzkie to Amend Section 1 "add to the end of §1 *I Mina'Trentai Dos Na LiheslaturanGuåhan.*" The Motion was seconded by Troy Torres. Objections by Senator Tom Ada and Jeffery Marchesseault. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Sophia Santos Diaz to approve Section 1 as amended. Seconded by Jayne Flores. Objections by Senator Tom Ada and Jeffery Marchesseault. Motion passed

A motion was made by Bob Klitzkie to Amend Section 2 to read "§2. JURISDICTION. As an adjunct of the Rules Committee of the 32<sup>nd</sup> Guam Legislature the Council has jurisdiction to:" The Motion was seconded by Pat Mason. Objections by Senator Tom Ada and Jeffery Marchesseault. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Jayne Flores to approve Section 2 as amended. Seconded by Bob Klitzkie. No objections passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Jayne Flores to amend §3(f) to read: "Subcommittee means the Subcommittee on Freedom of Information and Open Government Complaints. Seconded by Troy Torres. No objections passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Jayne Flores to approve Section 3 as amended. Seconded by Troy Torres. No objections passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Jeffery Marchesseaultto Amend Section 4(c) to read: "Petitions must be signed, verified, and submitted on the FOIA/OG Petition Form. Petitions must be delivered in person, via post mail, or sent electronically via email or facsimile to the Chairman." The Motion was seconded by Bob Klitzkie. No objections passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Senator Tom Ada to approve Section 4 as amended. Seconded by Jayne Flores. No objections passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Jayne Flores delete Section 5 in its entirety. Seconded by Troy Torres. Objected to by Bob Klitzkie. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Troy Torres to approve the new Section 5. Seconded by Jayne Flores. No objections. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Sophia Santos Diaz to approve the new Section 6. Seconded by Maureen Maratita. No objections. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Bob Klitzkie to amend the new Section 7(c) to read: "The Chairman shall, upon approval of the Council Recommendation by the Council, forward it and such concurring and dissenting Recommendations as are submitted to him to *I Mina'Trentai Dos Na LiheslaturanGuåhan*." Seconded by Troy Torres. No objections. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Jayne Flores to approve the new Section 7 as amended. Seconded by Troy Torres. No objections. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Bob Klitzkie to approve the new Section 8. Seconded by Jayne Flores. No objections. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Maureen Maratia to adopt the FOIA/OG Petition Form. Seconded by Bob Klitzkie. No objections. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Jeffery Marchesseault to adopt Robert's Rules of Order for all subcommittee business. Seconded by Bob Klitzkie. No objections. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Jeffery Marchesseaultthat it will require a majority vote for Subcommittee on Freedom of Information and Open Government Complaints to determine jurisdiction over petitions. Seconded by Jayne Flores. No objections. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Jayne Flores that all subcommittees are required to issue public notices of meetings. Seconded by Sophia Santos Diaz. No objections. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Jayne Flores to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Maureen Maratita. No objections. Motion passed.

Meeting was adjourned at 4pm.